Practice what I preach.

29 03 2012

I had a meeting with a potential new client the other day.  I am always thrilled and delighted when my marketing dollars are working for me, which in this case is basically some very solid organic SEO built into my website which brings new inquiries regularly.

With this particular restaurant owner, we had engaged in a prior phone conversation in which we addressed some of the basics and I answered his questions on why I felt my company was best suited to help them grow their business and what set us apart as consultants.  I mentioned the usual characteristics … passion for the industry, experience, approachability and resources in the most self-deprecating manner I could. Then when we met in person, they asked again and commented on how I was the only one of several consultants they had reached out to, who actually responded to them and took the time to answer questions and establish a rapport, they wondered why?

My initial response was that I try very hard to practice what I preach.  I can’t tell my clients they need to jump all over their leads in the most timely fashion and then not do the same.  But, it got me thinking about the rest of the advice and guidance I dispense on a regular basis and I must admit, I need to follow more of my own advice!

I can’t believe this is my first blog entry in a while and I am woefully behind in my email marketing campaigns.  However, another message I always share with clients is that we cannot change the past we can only do for today and the days ahead.  So … today I am updating my facebook page, trying to befriend the new timeline and various apps, writing a blog post and creating my next email campaign, which now by the way will drive more business to my facebook page. Clearly, I need to take my own advice and practice more of what I preach … are there enough hours in the day …  will you do the same?

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

